My Shamrock Oops.



There was a sea of green Shamrock Shufflers all antsy to begin their race, and I was one of them. There was a 5K and a 10K, I was revved up for the 10K.  Unfortunately I was not paying attention.


I heard the gun shot to begin the race, and I was way in back because I’m not very fast.  The crowd slowly began to shift forward, and then came to a complete stop.  Huh.  Then the announcer says into the speakerphone, “5K’ers, are you ready?”


OH POO ON A SHAMROCK!!!!  PANIC!! 


I missed my start!  I panicked and ran onto the sidewalk and around the startling line and quick got into the tail end of the 10K racers.  As soon as I started running it dawned on me that my chip timer may not have been activated, or possibly just my start time didn’t get registered–I’m hoping that it was the second thought.

Lucky for me I’m a gadgety runner.  I had my Iphone with me and had intended on using it to keep track of my pace.  In the midst of the panic I did start my Runkeeper app.  According to my Runkeeper app I finished in an hour and two minutes.  The race results have been posted and say that I finished in an hour and five minutes.  I’m thinking that my start time was not recorded, and since I was a late start I actually didn’t start until 10:03, but the trouble-shooters that post the race results would have assumed that I started exactly at 10:00 with no record of it.  Yes, that’s what I’m going by.


So boo.  My goal was to finish in under an hour.  It was the monstrous hill in the last mile that got me.  When I looked at my Runkeeper at mile 5 it said 50 minutes.  I thought, “Oh, I can do this”.  At the mile 5 marker I began to really book it, then turned a corner and was faced with a large hill.  Once I got to the top of that large hill I was met with another large hill! 


So HILL training is on my agenda this spring!  Other than the challenge of a late start and gigantor hills it was a good race.  It’s meant to be fun, and that’s what I had.


Me approaching the finish line, photographed by my wonderful husband.

3 thoughts on “My Shamrock Oops.

Leave a Reply

