The half is near.


Friday night I packed my bags and headed up north to my hometown for a bridal shower and bachelorette party to follow. I was a good Fitness-Freak and packed my running bag and mapped out a 10 mile run, which is actually a very challenging task when you don’t know the city very well. Nonetheless, I mapped out an easy 10 miler and got er done.

The best part of the 10 miler was that I got to test out my new hydration belt:


It doesn’t seem to have a brand name other than “Fuel Belt”. What I really like about this kind is that the bottles can’t fall out compared to the snap-on kind, which fell off all the time for me, and is SUPER annoying. The other great part about this belt is that it comes in all sorts of fun colors. I wanted purple, but they only had size small left in purple. So I went with the power of pink.

There are two tiny gripes I have about this belt. One is that it fastens via velcro, which I can see being a problem if the velcro wears. I’m going to have to find a mega safety pin that will power through it, because it is a thick belt. The other itty bitty thing is that the pouch that comes with it is very small and can’t fit my iphone. The black pouch photographed is a separate add-on pouch that I bought for $10. All in all, it was well worth the bucks.

Anyway, aside from new running toys, the big half marathon is coming up this Sunday. Am I nervous? No. Do I have any time goals? no…

Should I?

I know and accept that I’m a slightly less than average paced female runner. I’m comfortable at 11 minute miles, a 10 minute mile is workin it for me. While it’s a good thing to make goals, I don’t want to EVER be disappointed with myself after a race. At this point in my running life I don’t intend on setting a time goal, other than I would like to do it in two and a half hours or less.

I hope that not setting a time goal doesn’t make me come off as scared of failure. It really looks like that, but I promise that it’s not. I know what I’m capable of, and if my body lets me really pound it out on Sunday that’s what I’ll do.

3 thoughts on “The half is near.

  1. You are so darn cute! Who are you making promises to other than yourself? Here is a thought – you made a comment on my blog that you want to be as good as other runners – YOU ALREADY ARE! Speed does not make you a “good” runner. Who gives two fiddles what someone else thinks of your pace? If you have “friends” who make a big deal out of time, I urge you to reconsider how they impact your mental game. Comparing yourself to other runners is like having the devil sitting on your shoulder whispering in your ear. You are the BEST! This is your race and your race alone and I already know you will be giving it 110% when you are out there. Enjoy yourself cutie!

  2. Finishing a race and having a good time are perfectly acceptable goals. There’s no need to slap a pace time on your finish. If you feel like going faster, go for it; if you need to slow down, slow down. And I’m sure you have a “target pace” somewhere in the back of your mind, even if you don’t want to call it a goal. Whatever you do, have fun!

    • I love my technical socks! 🙂 FINISHING my half is the only goal I’ve set for myself. I love that idea. Have a great race!

Leave a Reply

