Let’s get back to business

     After feeling victorious from the Madison Mini Marathon came the muscle soreness.  This is how I know I ran hard.  Sunday we took the dog to the park and I was dragging butt.  Then Monday taking the dog for a walk wasn’t even an option.  I was an unfortunate couch potato on Monday.

     Today, Tuesday I am feeling more recovered and ready to get back to business. I’ve got to focus on training. Did you know that there’s less than 50 days to the Chicago Marathon?  LESS THAN 50 DAYS PEOPLE!!

     Last week I stumbled upon this blog post from weightinvain.com. It’s titled “My First Marathon: if I only Knew…” He/or/She got some great responses to the question What do you wish you knew before your first marathon?

Here’s the ones that SCARED ME:

““How hungry I would get. I wasn’t prepared for that and didn’t follow my nutrition plan. Finished but felt horrible after.”

“That one 20 mile long run is not enough. Next time I will run a few long runs over 20 with one at 24 miles.”

“How badly my legs, knees, calves would be burning at the finish; in subsequent marathons, the pain has gone way down.”

     So, I want to copy-cat that blog post, what do you wish you knew before your first marathon?

2 thoughts on “Let’s get back to business

  1. Like David said in the previous post, learn and apply! If you’re not properly fueled and hydrated for these extra-long runs, and during the marathon, then nothing else you do really matters.

    I absolutely wouldn’t recommend going past 20 miles on your training runs. On my first marathon, my last three long runs were 19, 20, and 19 miles. Instead, as you take on these last few long runs, this is the time to work hard on finding your marathon pace. Most of the training will be over and the clock is ticking to race day. You cannot do any more real training once you start to taper.

    My best recommendation for a reasonably fun (I didn’t say easy) race is to find the pace that will carry you through the last long runs and that pace should be one where you feel like you could “fairly easily” go 6 miles longer. Believe me, that easy feeling will leave you once you get beyond the 20 on marathon day. So, on your longest runs right now, back off your pace if necessary until you feel reasonably strong after that run is over. On race day, don’t exceed that chosen pace even if you feel pretty good!

    Do what it takes NOW to make it a pleasantly memorable race. That’s enough of my armchair coaching…where it’s much easier said than done!

  2. I haven’t run a marathon but I’m interested to read the comments you’ll get on this as I’m very vaguely toying with the idea of running one next year. Very vaguely.

    When training for the half I think the worst run I ever had was one on which I was so underfueled I could barely run and kept having to stop. Utterly weak. Was horrid.

Leave a Reply

