Ah-ha in September!

The path to our destination is not always a straight one.  We go down the wrong road, we get lose, we turn back.  Maybe it doesn’t matter which road we embark on.  Maybe what matters is that we embark.

Barbara Hall, Northern Exposure, Rosebud, 1993.

 

 

It’s September!  Two long runs left and spirits are high!  Honestly I’m not even nervous about my 19 and 20 mile run.  Instead of worrying about stuff I’ve been occupying myself on Active.com and reading running articles.  Doh, why haven’t I done this sooner? 

I had an “ah-ha!” moment yesterday while I read this article on Hal Higdon’s website called Carbo-Loading, by Nancy Clark, RD (http://www.halhigdon.com/Nancy.html).  It was this paragraph in particular that the lights went on:

You need not eat hundreds more calories the week pre-marathon. You simply need to exercise less. This way, the 600 to 1,000 calories you generally expend during training can be used to fuel your muscles. All during this week, you should maintain your tried-and-true high-carbohydrate training diet. Drastic changes can easily lead to upset stomachs, diarrhea, or constipation. For example, carbo-loading on an unusually high amount of fruits and juices might cause diarrhea. Too many white flour, low fiber bagels, breads, and pasta might clog your system. As Marathon King Bill Rodgers once said “More marathons are won or lost in the porta-toilets than they are at the marathon…” Fuel wisely, not like a chow hound. 

Carbo-loading is one the major silly things that I’ve been freaking out over for the last couple of weeks.  I couldn’t understand how you all replied that you don’t really change your eating habits the day prior to a long run.  Now I get it.  Thank you Nancy Clark!