Quick update: ITB problem

     Yesterday I had written (not posted) a more insightful post.  Little did I know when I was writing it that my IT band is irritated with me.  After work I hit the streets for a 4-5 mile run with hills.  Pain jolted up the side of my right leg at the first stride.  I went a full mile before I decided rest would be best.

     Needless to say, I’m going crazy, feel like I’m gaining 100 pounds, and to top it off, I have a sore throat.  On the bright side, it is a recovery week, I only have 12 miles planned for this weekend, it shouldn’t be the end of the world if I have to miss it.

     I’m doing all the injury care I can think of, rest, stretching, ice, ibuprofen, more stretching, rest awful rest, more stretching…

Wish me luck & quick recovery!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 thoughts on “Quick update: ITB problem

  1. I spoiled my season by not taking ITB and Achilles Tendinitis seriously. Then I had to. These are the last stretches of your training, you have already built up your endurance, so now you can lose more by running than giving your leg a good freeze and your body some rest. Get better soon!

  2. As someone who just took 6 weeks off from running because of my ITB, I can successfully say you will not gain weight! That was my NUMBER ONE concern. “Oh my god? No RUNNING for 6-8 weeks?!? I’m going to gain back all my weight.” I knew it was totally irrational but I still felt that way. It’s been almost 6 weeks since I ran now. I’m now on the “Return to Running Program” my doc gave me and in those 6 weeks I lost 5 pounds!

Leave a Reply

