To do and not to do

Things to do while sick & injured

· Rest

· Take several naps

· Stretch

· Catch up on blogs

· Read good books (currently reading A Million Pieces by James Frey)

 · Revisit some chapters from Hal Higdon’s book Marathon

· Watch good movies (Little Miss Sunshine)

 · Eat soup

· Drink buckets of water

· Catch up on good running articles on Active.com/CoolRunning/Runner’s World.

· Have a text conversation with an old friend

· Search iTunes high and low for new artists to listen to on your next long run


Things NOT to do while sick & injured

 · Consider running (or working out in any form)

 · Log onto Twitter and be jealous of all the runners you follow that are enjoying the perfect running weather and having good runs!

· Laundry. (Hey, it’s downstairs, that requires a form of working out in my opinion)

 · Gaze at my home treadmill with loving eyes

· Watch The Spirit of the Marathon because it will make me that much more antsy

· Be tempted to take the dog for a short run

· Feel sorry for myself (wah..wah..I can’t run, the world is going to end!)

· Slip my running shoes on just to see how great they look on my feet

· Feel guilty for going home from work early on Friday to sleep, rest & GET BETTER!!!

6 thoughts on “To do and not to do

  1. UGH! I did almost everything on the “Don’t do” list! Definitely been feeling sorry for myself. Definitely been crying a lot about my injury and DEFINITELY jealous of all the runners out there that are still running!
    (hugs)

Leave a Reply

