The internet magic 8 ball said I should

 

It’s Tuesday, I’ve got five more days to make a decision on what distance race I’ll be doing this Sunday.  Full marathon?  Half marathon?  Or sleep in?

I got a response from Kelly at Rails to Trails marathon; she said that I can decide the morning of the race.  I’m very grateful that they’re flexible, and I hope hope hope that I’m not annoying the crap out of them.

Today after work I took my knees out for another mid-length test run.  Everything seems fine.  The challenge is that I’m looking for pain, so I have to decipher between actual pain and imaginary pain.  But I’m 99.9% sure that I am A-OK.

So how will I decide?

I won’t. 

I’ll dwell on it all week long.

I’ll try to reason with myself, have a looksie:

Why I shouldn’t run the full 26.2

-I don’t know how my knees will react when I get to mile 15,16,17 and so on…

-I am risking further injury

-What if I can’t finish?

-What if I have to run/walk to the finish again because of knee pain?

-It’s a small race, there won’t be nearly as much spectator support

-I have to work on Monday

Why I should run the full marathon

-I could totally do it.

-The internet magic 8 ball said YES when I asked it if I should

-The weather is supposed to be mostly sunny with a high of 55 (perfect!!!)

-It’s a dirt trail, so maybe the impact won’t be as bad?

-A Chilean miner is going to run the NYC ING Marathon this Sunday, so why can’t I?

-“Challenges are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful.”

.

8 thoughts on “The internet magic 8 ball said I should

  1. hey girlie!!
    I totally say do it!…but then at the same time the sports medicine degree in me says be careful, running one marathon is not worth risking a serious injury. running a half is fun too! Listen to your body! eeek I am excited for you to decide! You can do anything you put your mind to!
    xoxo!

  2. You seem to be pretty much decided, but here are some thoughts anyway: It all depends on what you want to take out of that race. Do you want to finish a second marathon this year? Sure, you can do that. You probably still have the same base as you had in Chicago, so the distance shouldn’t be a problem. After reading your post on Chicago, though, I had the impression that you VERY BADLY want to shave off 20 minutes of your time. You can give it a shot and maybe the cooler weather supports you. But what if your knee starts hurting again? You haven’t run a distance of 15+ miles after your last long run to know you’re fine, right? If after mile 15 (or 18, or even 22) you have to fight pain, it won’t be fun, and it probably won’t be a PR. Why not do the half and just push it a little more? You should be o.k. mechanically, and to me, the cooler temperatures would be invitation to try for a fast half marathon. Stick in the mud, again.

  3. Hey girl! I have been in the exact same position, wanting to run every race I could possibly afford to enter – and the longest distance, too!

    From my experience, here’s what the decision comes down to: race now and expect AT LEAST 8 weeks of recovery, or go for the shorter distance to maintain your distance base and cut recovery to 5-6 weeks. Studies have shown that it takes 8 weeks for the muscles of recreational runners to repair themselves enough to be close to healthy, strong condition. Either take it really easy in the full this weekend, or have fun at the half. I think the latter option will set you up for greater success in a spring marathon.

    Good luck no matter which you choose!

  4. Eddie Izzard you are not 😉 … skip the full, enjoy the half on what looks to be an awesome course … look towards a strong spring marathon.

Leave a Reply

