I love a weekend workout

My “I don’t care about running” protest lasted about…..three days. Maybe because I had a relatively good week recovery wise? There was just one bad day, which is still perplexing me. But dare I say things are getting better?

Saturday morning I woke up at 5:00AM for my chlorine breakfast and had intended on 40 laps instead of the 35 that I’ve been getting comfortable with. At lap 35, I looked at the clock and noted that it was another time improvement, 1 mile in 40 minutes. Just two weeks ago it took me an hour. Feeling pretty proud of myself, I kept chugging along from one end of the pool to the other, and finished my 40 laps in 45 minutes. “Well, this certainly isn’t enough time spent in the pool” I thought, and kept going. 45 laps in 50 minutes. And done.

After the pool I got dressed and headed to the main cardio machine area to fight for one of four Arc Trainers.  I lucked out and snatched one up.  Last week the Arc Trainer seemed to bother my knee, I got off of it immediately. This week it felt just fine. And oh so good. It’s so close to actual running, that I might consider starting half marathon training on it. I haven’t registered, but there’s a spring half marathon on May 14th that makes me salivate when I think about it. It’s 86% full right now, which frustrating, but, really, what’s meant to be is meant to be. If it fills over night, then it’s not meant to be.

My Saturday workout summed up:
Swim: 2250 yards
Arc Trainer: 3.25 miles
And all body strength training

After all that I was nervous to wake up today to an irritated knee. But it seems fine. I know I can’t get too excited about it, because my knees have some bipolar tendencies and may give me hell at any moment. But it feels so good in my brain to finally see this little bit of progress.

Then today the sun was shining proud, and it was just too darn nice out to resist the call from my cross country skis. I kept telling myself, no, no, no, you can’t go out and risk any more time off. And the sun kept shouting, “COME OUTSIDE AND PLAY!!

So my husband and I went out for a short, fun, ski on frozen Lake Monona. We laughed, we squinted our eyes in the bright sunshine, and of course met the Lake Monona gophers!

skijohn skisteena

“In between goals is a thing called life that has to be lived and enjoyed” — Sid Caesar

8 thoughts on “I love a weekend workout

    • Thank you.
      I was catching up on your blog & couldn’t successfully leave a comment.. It kept telling me openID error..? But I wanted to give you my condolences, I hope all is well with you & your family.

  1. May is a ways off, so you really could be healthy and wel-trained by then, Just be careful! Since you are doing so well with swimming, maybe you should do a tri first? Those usually having shorter running distances.

    Are you icing your knee just in case?

  2. i love the arc trainer at my gym! it used to be so scary to me, but once i finally tried it i LOVED it! i get add when i work out, so it’s nice to be able to change it up and do stair stepping vs. running when i get bored! 🙂

Leave a Reply

