Finding the spirit of the triathlon

One would think registering for their first triathlon would be really exciting, right? I realized that I’ve only been mildly excited about it. Maybe because it’s not until June? Or because in some weird way I don’t think it’s going to be that hard? Or because I’m waiting to see how things pan out with my knee recovery? Either way, this week I started reading through people’s triathlon recaps in their blogs to get into the spirit of the triathlon.

I think reading recaps is working, because I had my first triathlon dream the other night. I dreamt that I forgot to buy a swim cap, which is required during the swim. In the dream the race officials let me do the run first so I could run to Wal-Mart and pick up a swim cap, bike back to the lake from Wal-Mart, and then do the swim. But Wal-Mart didn’t have any swim caps. So I took a plastic bag. And then I woke up. Good thing the race packet comes with a swim cap!

Saturday morning, to continue my triathlon training spirit, I decided to have a solo faux triathlon of my own at the gym.

2500 yard swim, 1 hour.
12 miles on a bike, 37 minutes
30 minutes on the Arc Trainer
each with a less than 10 minute transition

And then I was pretty sore for the rest of the day! It was a good idea to try this because now I know that this is going to be a challenge! I was really underestimating the bike portion, but I can tell that’s probably going to be my weakest event. There’s going to be more spinning in my near future.

After the faux triathlon, I went out to lunch with a good friend from high school. He’s a cool kid who is also into running and being healthy. After lunch I talked him into driving me to Middleton so I can reserve a wetsuit from a local athletic store to rent for the real triathlon in June.

I told the salesperson at the athletic store that I don’t know what size I am, but based off of most sizing charts I found on the web I’m probably a large. I told him my height and weight; he looked at this chart and said that I’m right smack dab in between a medium and a large. If I get a medium I’ll feel like I’m suffocating and if I get a large the water will fill into it and pull me down. Yay drowning!

He then asked me if I might lose weight before then. Um…No. Not likely. And what kind of question is that? I’m a darn healthy weight for my height. I left the store thinking, “I have to either gain or lose weight before the triathlon”, and I’m pretty sure neither is going to happen.

I think, now, with the newfound stress of prepping for the triathlon, and butt-kicking brick workouts the triathlon excitement has officially begun! WeeEeeEeee!!!

steenatry

9 thoughts on “Finding the spirit of the triathlon

  1. I like that first picture! Hehehe

    Cool workout! I’ve only done a brick workout once. I rode the bike 20 miles then ran 3. It was hard. My legs felt like I was running through water. It was a fun thing to try though.

    As for your if day… I had a hard time imagining my races as being real until I got closer to the date. Which definitely makes it hard to train!

  2. What a great dream!

    When do you have to settle on a size? Even if you don’t lose weight you might get slimmer with all the new and different types of exercise.

    I think June being far off is the issue. I’m not even thinking about my race in April but I probably should be!

  3. those brick workouts sound brutal. i know i am beat after doing just one of those workouts. i love that i can live the triathlon spirit vicariously through you!

  4. Hillarious article! I remember all the anxiety doing my first triathlon, although I came with a swim background and actually looked forward to the swim. Doing my first marathon in May so we’ll see how that goes…

Leave a Reply

