Running is my amusement park

I had zilch going on over weekend.  I missed out on two potential races that I wanted to do, and it allowed me thinking time, which is not usually a good thing.  If I stay occupied, I don’t think.  Saturday morning I woke up thinking about the short distance races that I’m doing, or thinking about doing.  I’m having a lot of fun with the shorter distances, my new speed is a really neat parting gift from the injury.  BUT, (there’s always a but) I still wish I could be doing more.

Here’s an analogy:  It’s like waiting in a long ride for a roller coaster ride, and finally getting close enough to see the sign that reads, “You must be this tall to ride” and realizing that that I’m not tall enough to ride.  I’ll have to get out of this line and go ride the ferris wheel instead.
I WANT TO RIDE THE ROLLER COASTER!!!

I nudged my snoring husband, “Hey, do you want to go for a run?”
Yawn, roll over to the other side side, fart.
That asshat.

Two hours later, we’re in the car on the way to Glacial Drumlin State Trail.  It’s the trail that I earlier complained about because it has too many birds.  As long as I run with someone, the birds don’t seem to mind my presence.  We started chugging along the trail, and he asks, “How far are we going?”

Interesting how he didn’t think to ask that before getting into the car, or agreeing to go with me.  Maybe he’s just sleep walking.  “At least six miles. I’d really like to hit seven though”.

“Oh, okay”.

glacialdrumlinWe run in silence, except when a bird flies over, we bark.  Yes, you read that right, we bark at the birds.  I read that if a Red-winged blackbird hovers over your head barking will scare it off.  Other than the barking, the run was uneventful.

We did get in seven miles though, which makes me a ridiculous amount of happy.  Seven miles!  Seven miles is just three away from ten. And ten is just three away from a half marathon. This excites me. I think that run made me a little bit taller.

Next stop:  Tilt a Whirl!

9 thoughts on “Running is my amusement park

  1. Yeahhh to the 7…I’m on day 2 of rest to start my taper week and the ‘thinking” is making me nuts so I totally understand what you mean….I’ve reworked race splits 1000 times, convinced myself I’m getting the flu and almost talked myself into racing flats….. errrrrr….I do loathe spare time!

  2. “I nudged my snoring husband, “Hey, do you want to go for a run?”
    Yawn, roll over to the other side side, fart.
    That asshat.”
    Pretty sure you just quoted 1/2 my mornings, verbatim.

  3. I too have encountered a red-winged blackbird attack. Not fun. Quite embarrassing and it actually hurt pretty bad. I saw it eyeballin’ me from a distance and sure enough, it flew at me and bopped me on the top of my head. My scalp and my ego bled for a little while…

Leave a Reply

