Uncertain, but Spontaneous

Two days after my Uncertain Planning post, I found myself running into the sunset with my fuel belt, ambition, and not so bad heat conditions.  It was a last minute, on the fly decision.  I was so frantic to start a 14 mile run so close to my bedtime that I accidentally locked the cat in the bedroom.  I did for a split second hesitate because I don’t know how to apply kttape to myself.  But I shrugged and said “eff it, I’m going

During the run I thought about my normal long run preparations; mapping out a route, eating a bowl of spaghetti the night before, making sure my Garmin and iPod are charged, refrigerating my water bottles, and I normally treat the day before a long run as a rest day.  None of the above happened.  And the world didn’t explode as I ran long without those pre long run rituals.

picnikfile_MlmakaThe spontaneous running was amazing.  There was no time to dwell on the things that I might normally worry about before a long run.  It was just up and at ’em.  I dashed around the bay, I cranked up my favorite Lady Gaga song, I waved at other runners, I devoured the sight of an explosive yellow-orange sunset, I was running on excitement of the spontaneity.

Then something silly happened.  At mile 12.80 I was taking a little walk break, feeling a little defeated from fatigue because I went out too fast.  At that very moment my iPod shuffle played Dog Days by Florence and the Machine. I don’t know what the meaning of the song is supposed to be by the artist, but to me it’s my love song dedicated to running.  Is that weird?  I don’t care, the song makes me ridiculously emotional.  I teared up, my breathing became wheezy.  This damn song keeps doing this to me, it happened at the start of the quarter marathon in May.  When it happened the first time my husband told me to put my emotions into the run, so obviously that’s what I did.

The dog days are not yet over, but I might end up an emotional basket case when they are–when I get through this training.

13 thoughts on “Uncertain, but Spontaneous

  1. I had to find the YouTube video for that song. I’m pretty sure it’s not about running! 😉 I’m not a very spontaneous person, but I’m trying to be more adventurous.

  2. I love that too! I often feel the spontaneous runs end up being the better ones because you haven’t really put much thought in the preparation. Just go with the flow. 🙂

  3. cool idea, makes me wonder if it would be possible to do a whole travel phase on the fly, could be very interesting experiment 🙂

  4. Awesome! It can be so easy to get caught up in doing runs only according to the master plan, but I bet it was liberating to just get up, go outside and hammer out 14 unplanned miles on a weeknight.

  5. SWEET! And the knee?

    In my head “The Knee” came out sounding like a nickname for a running buddy. “My Buddy. My Buddy. My Buddy and Knee…”

  6. Love this..
    I was the same way on Saturday – we were out late-ish, I had not eaten my usual food, not rested a ton and was worried about my Sunday run.
    It ended up being great. I spend too much time worrying about the prep that is for sure.

Leave a Reply

