Metal Mouth

braces_fsWhen I first had my braces put on in June of 2010, it hurt.  It hurt my old adult teeth so bad that for the first weekend that they were on I existed on ice cream only.  That sounds fun, right?  It wasn’t.  I cried.  I cried because I was so hungry and I just wanted some solid food to fill my stomach.  It’s important to note here that 2010 was also the year that I trained for my first marathon, meaning hunger was serious business to me.

This scenario would repeat itself after every orthodontist visit for the first six months of having braces.  I despised the soft foods I was limited to; scrambled eggs, oatmeal, applesauce, yogurt, cottage cheese, soup….  Wait, wait, let me rephrase that, I DESPISE those soft foods that I was limited to, not in the past tense, but like, probably forever.

As I began to tell friends that I’d be getting my braces removed soon the most common question I got was, “What will be the first food you eat?”

I hadn’t given it much thought, and didn’t have confidence that I’d be able to go out and chomp into a well-done piece of steak.  Instead, I went out for what I knew I’d be able to GET IN MAH BELLAH:  ice cream.

With that ice cream, I ordered a turkey sandwich.  A sandwich has never felt so exotic.  I looked it in the eye, and I bit into it.  I didn’t have to do my ritual tear a bite off with my finger and nibble, I went head on into a turkey sandwich.  And had there been someone there with me, I wouldn’t have been worried if there was lettuce stuck in my teeth.  You have no idea how much you take the action of biting for granted until you have braces as an adult.  Next time you have a sandwich, be thankful it’s a simple chore.

So what am I looking forward to eating the most after the removal of my braces?

An apple.

Apple StabbingIt’s as simple as that.  For the last two and a half years I’ve felt handicapped as an apple eater.  If I wanted an apple, I had to cut it into slices.  If I wanted an apple with my sack lunch, I had to pack a knife.  If I forgot my knife, the apple got bruised from both my neglect and the banging in my sack lunch on its extra trip home instead of in my belly.

I just want to bite into an apple.

12 thoughts on “Metal Mouth

  1. Yes! Freedom!
    I can’t stamd mouth/tooth pain and think that you’re a stronger woman that I. I’m sure that your teeth are now super gorgeous and pretty pumped to be chomping on apples! 🙂

  2. I had braces in high school and it was just as awful (and terribly horrific if i did get anything stuck in them because those kids would pick on me for anything!) I still remember the day I got mine taken off…just in time for prom! The biggest thing i felt was how slimy my teeth felt without all that metal!

  3. Yay for no more braces! The thing I missed the most with braces was corn on the cob – I’m a farm girl and we grew our own. I hated having to cut it off the cob. I mean, I could eat it with braces but it was so darn messy it wasn’t worth it! Enjoy your slimy metal free teeth! 😉

  4. Yay for awesome teeth! I need to get some scraggly teeth straightened up, but I don’t have your dedication.

    And, I went to Texas Roadhouse. There was some line dancing (not by me), a lot of rednecks (just normal in AL), and I got to sit on a saddle while they yelled about my birthday. So perfect! Thanks for the tip!

  5. Yay for straight teeth! I had my braces off in high school, but I definitely remember the agony of each orthodontist visit and how careful I had to be with eating certain foods. Plus, I lived in constant fear that I was somehow going to stain my teeth and leave visible marks where the brackets were attached. Luckily, all ended up well and I was free to experience the slimy teeth feeling and the joy of a metal-free mouth. I actually thought my mouth looked weird without braces at first and it took me a while to get used to it.

    I was given plastic retainers for both my upper and lower teeth. I still wear them 12 years later, same exact ones (yes, they are disgusting; no, I don’t care). Not every night, of course, but I try to at least a couple of times a week. I can definitely feel when my teeth have shifted because shit still gets sore when I wear the retainers after a period of not doing so.

    I’m not sure why I just told you my life story, but….congrats on getting them off! 😀

Leave a Reply

