Going the extra mile

On Monday morning I took a peek at the weekly weather forecast to try and plan out my week of training,. I saw temps below zero for Wednesday, the day I was hoping to tackle my long run. I thought to myself, “I wonder how far I’d have to drive south to get to positive temperatures?”

That thought quickly led to why drive south when I can just drive an hour east to run at the Pettit National Ice Center in Milwaukee?

UntitledI had 14 miles on my plan. Normally my indoor long run strategy is to run 6 on the treadmill, 3 around the tenth of a mile gym track, and then the rest on the treadmill. The thought of that made me want to throw up. So I choose driving an hour to run.

It was well worth it. Fifty-one laps seemed less daunting than being cooped up in my gym. One lap is 0.28th of a mile. I was surprised at the amount of people there in the middle of a weekday. There was such a variety of people; some power-walkers, some runners doing intervals, woman pushing strollers, and the ice skaters! I was entertained by the speedy ice skaters on the ice rink. There was even the most adorable little girl in the world learning to ice skate in a green tu-tu. She fell, and hopped right back up again. Seeing her determination somehow helped me stay focused on my monotonous circles.

I took a couple of breaks, whined on Twitter, and ended up running 15.4 miles– I mean I drove all the way there, why not make it worth it? I knew I made the right choice when on my way back to Madison the wind was blowing my tiny Hyundai all over the highway. I even lost a wiper-blade. It just blew off of my car.

I hope this is the last fight I have with the Polar Vortex. I enjoyed my little adventure to Milwaukee, but it would be nice if the rest of my long runs from here on out will be in my own zip code.

7 thoughts on “Going the extra mile

  1. I can’t get over how cold it’s been in your neck of the woods! Brrr!! 55 laps around a track sounds super monotonous, but I’m sure it wouldn’t be as bad since you had ice skaters to watch etc. At all of the indoor tracks around here, there’s nothing to watch or see, it’s just a circle. 😦

Leave a Reply

